Sterling Attorneys at Law, P.C.
Phone: 248-419-1958
Speak to an experienced employment law attorney
Call Our Firm

June 2014 Archives

Michigan woman wins wrongful termination lawsuit

Recently, a Michigan woman received $183,000 in a wrongful termination case against a medical center where she was previously employed. The woman claimed that the center did not follow the discipline procedure laid out in the employment handbook when it terminated her. The jury found in her favor and awarded her compensation.

Detroit disability nonprofit sued for workplace discrimination

In a perfect viewpoint of employment, no one is discriminated for any reason. Whether it is race, age, sex or different factors, no one should be terminated or prevented from getting a job because of factors that have nothing to do with the individual's ability to adequately perform their duties. Unfortunately, this viewpoint is sometimes shattered by cases in which individuals are indeed prevented from working because of such factors. Such is the case of a recent workplace discrimination incident in Detroit.

Michigan may soon implement new workplace discrimination law

Michigan is an equal opportunity state. The Michigan Civil Rights Commission (MCRC) was set up to receive complaints against and take action when any reports are filed regarding discrimination based on race, sex etc. Any discrimination in places of employment, housing and education are prohibited by this Michigan law. Complaints can be made on the grounds of height, sex, race, age, marital status etc. MCRC also has the power and authority to order appropriate remedies after investigating the complaints.

Governor signs Michigan's minimum wage increase legislation

Men and women work hard to build this prosperous nation, and each one of them deserves a fair share of the profits from the companies they dedicate their lives to help succeed. Establishing minimum wage and overtime payment are basic employee rights that fall under the Fair Labor Standards Act. On May 27, 2014, Michigan's governor signed legislation that would increase the minimum wage rate in the state to $9.25 per hour by the year 2018.